In the spirit of the first Twelve that were sent, REPENT!

Standard
Statue of Saint Blaise on the Holy Trinity Col...

Statue of Saint Blaise

Gift:  Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe) – With the gift of wonder and awe (fear of the lord), we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love.

Reading:  So they went off and preached repentance.  (Mark 6:12)

Observation:  In the interest of keeping it short and sweet today, I thought I would journal on just this one verse from the gospel today.  The first reading is replete with much to discuss, but I will leave that for you to decide if you get a chance to read it.  There is a comparison between the call of Moses and the call of Jesus which is very intriguing to ponder, to say the least.  However, for me today I want to focus my mind on the fact that as the original twelve were sent out, they preached repentance.  The gospel story does not say that they went out to share the good news, they preached repentance and drove out demons.

Personification:  Patience  I feel like I will have an opportunity to display patience today with those people who will come to the church today to have their throat blessed in memorial of Saint Blaise.  It is not that I don’t believe that God’s power comes through the intercession of the Saints, because I certainly do.

Prayer:  Lord, I pray that you will give me the patience I will need to love those that may appear to be attending Mass for this purpose alone this morning.  Please remind me to be thankful today that you are using whatever means necessary to get your people to deepen their relationship with you.  Saint Blaise, pray for us.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

