Remember the Saints, not necessarily the ones already passed…

Standard

  

Saint Benedict's - McKenzie Bridge, OR

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading: 1 Let mutual love continue.  Do not neglect hospitality, for through it some have unknowingly entertained angels.  Be mindful of prisoners as if sharing their imprisonment, and of the ill-treated as of yourselves, for you also are in the body.  Let marriage be honored among all and the marriage bed be kept undefiled, for God will judge the immoral and adulterers.  Let your life be free from love of money but be content with what you have, for he has said, “I will never forsake you or abandon you.”  Thus we may say with confidence: “The Lord is my helper, (and) I will not be afraid. What can anyone do to me?”  Remember your leaders who spoke the word of God to you.  Consider the outcome of their way of life and imitate their faith.  Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever.  (Hebrews 13:1-8)

Observation:  I was going to consider just a part of this reading in my journal for today, but there is just so much there that I couldn’t pick out just one part.  I could definitely be more hospitable to people when they come to my house or our church.  It is true that the prisoners in our society are often overlooked, especially by me and there are plenty of excuses that I could give for why that is, but the truth is that I should at myself as one of them.  There is still a healthy amount of racism in our society and I should continue to consider that we are all one body, in this fight together.  The rest really speaks for itself, except that I want to remember the people today that brought the faith to me and consider how peaceful their lives will be at the end when God calls them home.

Personification:  Love  The admonition to let mutual love continue, starts out this chapter in the book of Hebrews.  I believe it was so that we could start to get a glimpse of God’s love that he sent us his Son to earth to show us what love is.  As the end of the first reading for today’s Mass says in the 8th verse, “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever.”    He loves us as much today as he did the day that he died for us on the cross, and as much as the day we will join together with him for eternity.  For me, I want that day to be today, now, this minute, this second.  I will consider the love shown to me by those who came before me, especially the Son who died for me on the cross over 2000 years ago, and I will act accordingly.

Prayer:  Lord, let me be an example of your love to your people who need it so desperately in this world.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

