God will reveal when you are to rest…that is, if you are doing his work!

Standard
The Lord is My Shepherd, I Shall Not Want

Image by Thomas Hawk via Flickr

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  Through him (then) let us continually offer God a sacrifice of praise, that is, the fruit of lips that confess his name.  Do not neglect to do good and to share what you have; God is pleased by sacrifices of that kind.  Obey your leaders and defer to them,
for they keep watch over you and will have to give an account, that they may fulfill their task with joy and not with sorrow, for that would be of no advantage to you.  (Hebrews 13:15-17)

&

 The apostles 14 gathered together with Jesus and reported all they had done and taught.  15 He said to them, “Come away by yourselves to a deserted place and rest a while.” People were coming and going in great numbers, and they had no opportunity even to eat. So they went off in the boat by themselves to a deserted place.  (Mark 6:30-32)

Observation:  I would hope that I am not reading something in to these two readings this morning, but I can’t help but feel like I should be scheduling a vacation soon.  However, it is not my time that I am working with, it is his.  So, unlike the advice that I would get from this world that would say that I should schedule my vacation in advance, to make sure it happens, I am going to wait until the opportunity arises and just be ready when the time comes.  It was true for the apostles and as the author of Hebrews says, it is true for us that we should be about the work that God would give us to do, and defer to our leaders to tell us when it is time for us to go away to a deserted place and rest.

Personification:  Patience  In order to display the fruit of patience, I will have to wait on the Lord to show me when it is time for me to take a break.  As for now, I know that there is much work to be done to prepare for the next few months and I am confident that the Lord will be right at my side, even though I don’t deserve it.

Prayer:  The LORD is my shepherd; there is nothing I lack. In green pastures you let me graze; to safe waters you lead me; you restore my strength. You guide me along the right path for the sake of your name. Even when I walk through a dark valley, I fear no harm for you are at my side; your rod and staff give me courage. You set a table before me as my enemies watch; You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. Only goodness and love will pursue me all the days of my life; I will dwell in the house of the LORD for years to come. I praise you Lord, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

