God rested on the seventh day…

Standard

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  So God blessed the seventh day and made it holy, because on it he rested from all the work he had done in creation.  (Genesis 2:3)

&

4 What are humans that you are mindful of them, mere mortals that you care for them?  (Psalm 8:5)

Observation:  I am feeling called this morning to share that everyone needs to take a break.  Whether this story from the book of Genesis is the real account of creation as it happened or a great story that illuminates the light of creation in a way that someone like me who lives in darkness can see it, it doesn’t matter.  What matters to me today is that I see a reminder that I must take some time for myself to rest.  It also is a reminder of the divine inspiration that comes through the Word of God.  As we see in this verse from Genesis, and again in the verse from the responsorial psalm for today’s Mass, God designed for a world that includes us, and who are we that he should be mindful of us.

Personification:  Faithfulness  It sometimes feels like I am on a roller coaster ride when I am letting myself be led by the holy Spirit.  However, today’s readings and the video reflection is a reminder to me that God is good and even though I am not worthy he is still going to continue to be good and carry the plan that he has for me to completion.  It is not necessary that I understand where it is that I am headed.  I can be faithful because I know that it is his plan and his will.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to see more fully that it is your will and your plan that is being done in my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

