No longer subject to judgment…at least it is possible!

Standard
the Stainned Gless of depicting the Holy Spirit.

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  For the Spirit scrutinizes everything, even the depths of God.  (1 Corinthians 2:10b)

&

13Do not think that I have come to abolish the law or the prophets. I have come not to abolish but to fulfill.” (Matthew 5:17)

Observation:  During the time of Jesus, who could have accepted that Jesus was the fulfillment of all the promises that were passed down from the prophets for centuries.  It is easy for me to Monday morning quarterback the story and say that if I were there in Jesus time, I would have just watch him perform the miracles in Jerusalem and all over Israel and believed he was the Messiah.  However, I read the last verse from the second reading or Mass today and I was concerned that the Word was revealing something to me that I did not know that I had the wisdom to understand, even today as I see over 2000 years of history created out of the resurrection of our Lord.  The good news is that the Spirit is good, just like God, because the Spirit is God.  If you read on further in the 2nd chapter of the 1st letter to the Corinthians, like I did, Paul tells us that it is the spiritual person whom the truth is revealed to, not the natural person.  It is that spiritual person who is no longer subject to judgment, but gains the capacity to judge from the Spirit.

Personification:  Kindness  I will try to discern what is the way to continue to reveal the truth of the spirit to others around me in a kind and gentle way, that could only come from the Spirit of God.  I do not need to be concerned about accepting the fact that Jesus was the Messiah, because the truth is being revealed to me whether I accept it or not at this point.  I hope that my life shows that I have accepted Jesus as my Lord and Savior, and more truth will continue to be revealed to me today.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to continue to see that it is your will that is being done in my life, and help me to resist my inclinations to return to my will.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “No longer subject to judgment…at least it is possible!

    • Did you read the chapter of Corinthians that I mentioned, or just decide that the post was just not worth believing? It’s really not my words that I was using, but H-I-S…God bless you!

Leave a Reply

