My desires are evil from the start…

Standard
The first chapter of Genesis, written of an egg...
The first chapter of Genesis, written on an egg…

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  3 When the LORD smelled the sweet odor, he said to himself: “Never again will I doom the earth because of man, since the desires of man’s heart are evil from the start; nor will I ever again strike down all living beings, as I have done.  As long as the earth lasts, seedtime and harvest, cold and heat, Summer and winter, and day and night shall not cease.”  (Genesis 8:20-22)

&

Looking up he replied, “I see people looking like trees and walking.”  Then he laid hands on his eyes a second time and he saw clearly; his sight was restored and he could see everything distinctly.  (Mark 8:24-25) 

Observation:  I shared with the group of three of us that had lunch together that I was moved by the first reading when I read these two verses about the fact that God would not doom the earth because of man.  God knows that we have evil desires in our heart from the start, but he has since then given us his Son and the holy Spirit to lead us toward becoming a new creation.   In the gospel reading, we discussed the fact that Jesus is showing us that healing sometimes does not happen instantaneously.  I see that God is working a miracle in me, but I must be patient for him to work it out in his own time.

Personification:  Generosity  It is my intention tonight to focus my attention on my boys and my wife to show them the generosity that comes from the grace of God. 

Prayer:  Lord, thank you for giving me your holy Spirit to transform me from my evil start to becoming a new creation.  Please continue to make me into a man who yearns only to do your will.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

