The proof of God is right in front of me, or I don’t have any faith…

Standard
The upper part of The Transfiguration (1520) b...

The upper part of The Transfiguration (1520)

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Readings:    1 Faith is the realization of what is hoped for and evidence 2 of things not seen.  (Hebrews 11:1)

5 But without faith it is impossible to please him, for anyone who approaches God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him.  (Hebrews 11:6)

2 After six days Jesus took Peter, James, and John and led them up a high mountain apart by themselves. And he was transfigured before them, and his clothes became dazzling white, such as no fuller on earth could bleach them. Then Elijah appeared to them along with Moses, and they were conversing with Jesus.  (Mark 9:2-4)

Observation:  My reflection on these verses took longer than usual this morning.  I apologize for the wait for anyone who looks forward to them.  I am feeling a little stress, because of a service that we are doing at our church tomorrow night.  I am certainly looking forward to it, but with my wife being 8 months pregnant and my son, who is in sixth grade and wanting to grow up to fast and not understanding how the world can just consume you, it is difficult to stay focused on my journaling some mornings.  Anyway, the message for me this morning is just a reminder that I do not need to look very far in my life to see evidence of God’s existence, and it is only by faith that it is possible to see the miracles that he has worked or is working in our lives.

Personification:  Love  I will focus my attention on showing God love for all that he has done in my life and then make it my

The boys...

primary focus to show love to my wife for the miracle of life that she is carrying and the amazing woman that she is.  After that, I will make sure that my boys know that I believe that God is working in them to bring his power to light by transforming them into new creations, made to be more like Jesus.

Prayer:  Lord, thank you for carrying me through the tough times of my life and still loving me regardless of my past mistakes.  O my God, I am heartily sorry for having offended you and I detest all of my sins, because of your just punishments, but most of all because you are all good and deserving of all my love.  I firmly resolve, with the help of your grace, to sin no more and avoid the near occasion of sin.  I ask and pray this act of contrition, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

