It takes prayer to exorcise some demons…

Standard
Santa Maria della Concezione

Saint Michael, the archangel

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

 

Reading:  Jesus, on seeing a crowd rapidly gathering, rebuked the unclean spirit and said to it, “Mute and deaf spirit, I command you: come out of him and never enter him again!”

&

7He said to them, “This kind can only come out through prayer.”  (Mark 9:29)

Observation:  After I read the gospel reading this morning, I listened to the video reflection on the USCCB website, which you can find a link for at the top of my blog.  Anyway, I was left with a feeling of almost avoidance on the part of the church.  It is not as though the church does not believe that demon possessions are possible, but I feel like we would often just like to find other names for them.  I am sure there are many good reasons for this, which with wisdom I will understand.  For now, I would like to point out that Jesus did not say in Mark’s gospel that he was talking to a boy who needed to be healed of a sickness, he was talking to a mute and deaf spirit, who was possessing this boy. 

Personification:  Faithfulness  I will see in my life that when I struggle to shake off some sin, that it is possible that it is not just a tendency to sin that is left over from original sin.  It could very well be a spiritual battle that is going on, for the right to possess me.  I will have faith in Jesus’ words that with this kind of possession, it takes prayer to exorcise it.  In order to display this fruit of faithfulness in the Word of God and the power of God in the holy Spirit to protect me, it will take the grace that comes from a sincere prayer life.

Prayer:  Saint Michael the Archangel, defend us in battle; be our protection against the wickedness and snares of the devil.
May God rebuke him, we humbly pray:  and do thou, O Prince of the heavenly host, by the power of God, thrust into hell Satan and all the evil spirits who prowl about the world seeking the ruin of souls.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “It takes prayer to exorcise some demons…

Leave a Reply

