Man, I am so looking forward to the coming of the chief Shepherd…

Standard
  

The chief Shepherd

Gift: Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  And when the chief Shepherd is revealed, you will receive the unfading crown of glory. 3  (1 Peter 5:4)

Observation:  With the understanding that I am no less of a sinner than anyone else, I still am looking forward to the day that the chief Shepherd returns because he will hopefully find me being the example that he expects me to be.  The idea of receiving an unfading crown of glory sounds pretty nice, but I can’t even imagine our Lord acknowledging me, much less giving me an unfading crown of glory.  However, since the Word is saying to me today that I have this to look forward to, I will keep this reward clearly in my mind.

Personification:  Joy  The idea of a reward this great that is waiting for those people who are faithful to the call they receive to bring the good news to God’s people will be the source of my joy today.  It seems quite easy to be joyful in the midst of whatever pain that will come my way in this world, with the knowledge that if I persevere in faith, there will be a great reward waiting for me in the coming Kingdom.

Prayer:  Lord, I am thankful for everyone that you put in my life to help me fulfill your call of bringing the good news to others in this world.  I ask you to come soon to bring your glory into this world, so many more people will be able to see your amazing power.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

