I hope God makes me like a child in total dependence upon and obedience to the gospel…

Standard
Jesus with children, early 1900s Bible illustr...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  When Jesus saw this he became indignant and said to them, “Let the children come to me; do not prevent them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. Amen, I say to you, whoever does not accept the kingdom of God like a child 2 will not enter it.”  (Mark 10:14-15)

Observation:  I found part of my title in the footnote for the verses that I chose from Mark’s gospel to journal on today.  It provided for me and my wife a different perspective on the idea of a childlike faith.  To my wife and I, we looked at the childlike faith, as if it were innocent, and not dependent.  These verses and the footnotes helped us to see today that a childlike faith is more about depending on God and being obedient than about being innocent.  Of course, as my wife would more than likely point out after reading this, the innocence of childhood is only true for those children who are obedient and dependent on their parents.

Personification:  Gentleness  I will focus today on displaying the fruit of gentleness in my life.  This is especially difficult when I am trying to discipline my children, but I will rely on the holy Spirit to guide me in this and allow me to discipline them with the gentleness that he disciplines me. 

Prayer:  Lord, allow me to be more like a child in my dependence on you for everything and my complete obedience to your Word.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “I hope God makes me like a child in total dependence upon and obedience to the gospel…

Leave a Reply

