If we are destined to be sinners until his return, how can we turn from sin?

Standard
the fear of the lord is a fountain of life

the fear of the lord is a fountain of life

Gift:  Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe) – With the gift of wonder and awe (fear of the lord), we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love.

Reading:   3 But to the penitent he provides a way back, he encourages those who are losing hope!  Return to the LORD and give up sin, pray to him and make your offenses few.  (Sirach 17:19-20)

&

Jesus looked at them and said, “For human beings it is impossible, but not for God. All things are possible for God.”  (Mark 10:27)

Observation:  As I read through the readings this morning, I knew that I would again discuss the fact that it is not possible for us to accomplish anything good and of lasting value without it being the will of God.  However, I think I have journaled on that subject before, so I went back to re-read the first reading and realized that the two verses that I copied above were specifically talking to my personal situation now.  The truth is, as it says in the 20th verse of the 17th chapter of the book of Sirach, it is only by prayer that we can make our offenses few.

Personification:  Self-Control  I feel like I have missed the mark when I have journaled before on my attempt to display the fruit of self-control.  The truth is, as I have quoted above from the first reading, I am not going to be able to control my selfish desires until I give myself to prayer in every moment of every day for the rest of my life.  Although, to a non-believer, that may sound like I am becoming a robot, I believe I will find it to be liberating.

Prayer:  Lord, watch over me and my family today and make us into the creations that you intended us to be.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

