God is in charge…end of discussion!

Standard

I miss the snow...

Gift: Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  Come to our aid, O God of the universe, look upon us, show us the light of your mercies, and put all the nations in dread of you!  Thus they will know, as we know, that there is no God but you, O Lord.  Give new signs and work new wonders.  (Sirach 36:1,4-5a)

&

Help us, God our savior, for the glory of your name. Deliver us, pardon our sins for your name’s sake.  (Psalm 79:9)

&

Jesus summoned them and said to them, “You know that those who are recognized as rulers over the Gentiles
lord it over them, and their great ones make their authority over them feltBut it shall not be so among youRather, whoever wishes to be great among you will be your servant; whoever wishes to be first among you will be the slave of all.
For the Son of Man did not come to be served but to serve and to give his life as a ransom for many.”  (Mark 10:42-45)

Observation:  I started out in the first reading with the hope that is promised of the God of the universe coming to put all things right in this world.  In the responsorial, I was reminded of the sinfulness that I carry (as if I needed a reminder) and that fact that it will be for his glory that he comes, not to save me, because he already came to save me.  Finally, the gospel tells me today that I must continue to be a servant if I am answering the call of the Father. 

Personification:  Love  God’s love comes to me as a free gift, my display of the fruit of love must be given freely as well.  It is not a condition of correct attitude or action that is worthy of it.  I should not be concerned about how I am perceived by others, rather just concern myself with hearing the call and answering it.  My call is to love others unconditionally, and I will try to answer that call with my life today.

Prayer:  God, my Father, may I love You in all things and above all things.  May I reach the joy which You have prepared for me in Heaven.   Nothing is good that is against Your Will, and all that is good comes from Your Hand.  Place in my heart a desire to please You and fill my mind with thoughts of Your Love, so that I may grow in Your Wisdom and enjoy Your Peace.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

