He is the most high God…Amen!

Standard

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  He makes known the past and the future, and reveals the deepest secrets.  No understanding does he lack; no single thing escapes him.  All of them differ, one from another, yet none of them has he made in vain, For each in turn, as it comes, is good; can one ever see enough of their splendor?  (Sirach 42:19-20,25)

Observation:  I was reading this morning and I took a break to do the 3 minute retreat on the Loyola Press website.  I got a chance to talk to my sister on the phone just after that and then realized that my son had forgotten his cell phone, so I drove to take it to him.  After I returned, I realized that it was time to get ready, if I was going to make it to Mass at 8:30am.  I dropped off my son, who is in 3rd grade at school and then made it to Mass, just in time for the reading of the gospel at 8:36am.  What I got from the homily this morning was that our pastor recommended that we look at the first reading and decide how it best applies to our experience.  He did mention the healing of the blind Bartimaeus, of course, but my takeaway was the fact that I needed to read the first reading again and decide how this reading applied to my life.

Personification:  Faithfulness  I would hope that I could take to heart the verses that came to me from the first reading today and display the fruit of faithfulness in my life.  The first verse was specifically chosen because of my dream last night, but the other two are more meant for the statement of my belief that God is all-powerful in my life and I have complete faith that the work that he began in me, he will see through to its completion.

Prayer:  Lord, allow me to continue to see the direction that you are taking my life and remind me of your almighty power to work miracles in my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

