I’m going to assume he will be hungry…How about you?

Standard
Michelangelo's Last Judgment

Michelangelo's Last Judgment

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  2 The next day as they were leaving Bethany he was hungry.  Seeing from a distance a fig tree in leaf, he went over to see if he could find anything on it. When he reached it he found nothing but leaves; it was not the time for figs.  And he said to it in reply, “May no one ever eat of your fruit again!” And his disciples heard it.  (Mark 11:12-14)

Observation:  There are many different ways to describe the return of Jesus.  A few that come to mind for me are:  The Last Judgment, The Second Coming and the Parousia or Rapture.  I am sure all of these give people the same feeling that I get when I here them; a sense of finality.  I guess that is the reason I felt prompted by the holy Spirit to journal about the fact that I don’t want to assume that Jesus upon his return will not expect fruit to be on my tree, regardless of the season in my life.

Application:  Self-Control  I will work today to display the fruit of self-control in my life.  It is not about the interaction that I have with other people that shows my ability to have self-control, rather my ability or inability to follow the will of God in my life that shows self-control or my lack of self-control.  It will be my focus today to continue to follow the will of God in my life and always act in accordance with the holy Spirit.

Prayer:  Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me a sinner.  Thank you for all you have done for me and the grace that I have recieved as a free gift from you.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

