“Whatever sin you struggle with, don’t give in!”

Standard
Moses Sees the Promised Land from Afar, as in ...

Moses Sees the Promised Land from Afar

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  I call heaven and earth today to witness against you: I have set before you life and death, the blessing and the curse. Choose life, then, that you and your descendants may live, by loving the LORD, your God, heeding his voice, and holding fast to him.  (Deuteronomy 30:19-20a)

&

Then he said to all, “If anyone wishes to come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily 11 and follow me.”  (Luke 9:23)

Observation:  I put the title for my post today in quotes, because that is how I hear God speaking to me today through the first reading and the gospel for today’s Mass.  Please don’t get me wrong, I know that there will be times when I will be weak and I will fail, but I am hearing this morning that the Lord has called me to something greater than just being a sinner.  If I choose to not get involved in sin, I will surely be rewarded with the grace to get one step closer to becoming all the God has created me to be.

Personification:  Joy  I am going to steal a quote that I received this morning in a tweet from a Roman Catholic priest in Africa this morning.  He said, “Father, do in me whatever it takes to make me acutely and joyfully aware of your presence.”  I think that is the key to displaying the fruit of joy in your life.  If I can be aware of his presence in my life, I will not only choose not to sin but I will be able to act with the fruit of joy in all situations.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to show joy today.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

