Yesterday’s gospel mentions the devil seven times, today’s once…

Standard
Hell

OH, Hell NO!

Gift:  Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe) – With the gift of wonder and awe (fear of the lord), we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love.

Reading:  17 Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you accursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. For I was hungry and you gave me no food, I was thirsty and you gave me no drink, a stranger and you gave me no welcome, naked and you gave me no clothing, ill and in prison, and you did not care for me.’  (Matthew 25:41-43)

Observation:  Yesterday, after hearing the name of the devil mentioned in three different forms in the gospel reading, I was left with a reminder of the fact that Jesus was not afraid of saying his name.  It seems however, that some of the disciples living today are afraid of the name.  So much so, that they are not willing to say it in public.  I have my theories about why that is, but I am going to keep those to myself.  However, today’s gospel follows up on the name by saying that if we do not take care of our own people, including strangers that we should see as Jesus, we will be thrown into an everlasting fire with the devil.

Personification:  Generosity  “No thank you!” I want that to be my resounding answer to the prospect of being sent to the everlasting fire with the devil.  I hope that I can act with the fruit of generosity today to everyone that I come in contact with, because I need to see the face of Jesus in everyone.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to act as you would act in the face of all the afflicted ones that I will come in contact with today.  Please show me the best way to provide for their needs and what they need the most.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

