Turn away from sin and be faithful to the gospel…

Standard

Get that look off your face man!

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  When God saw by their actions how they turned from their evil way, he repented of the evil that he had threatened to do to them; he did not carry it out.  (Jonah 3:10)

&

A clean heart create for me, God; renew in me a steadfast spirit.  (Psalm 51:12)

&

Just as Jonah became a sign to the Ninevites, so will the Son of Man be to this generation.  (Luke 11:30)

Observation:  It is amazing to me that I did not see the significance of Jonah’s preaching of repentance before in the light of Jesus’ sacrifice for our sins.  Jesus reminds us that the Ninevites repented of their sinfulness to be saved from destruction, in the same way that we should see Jesus calling us to turn away from sin and be faithful to the gospel.  I have heard it explained before that the symbolism of Jonah in the belly of the fish for three days and Jesus dying for three days is how the two stories relate, but this morning I see that it is Jonah’s call to repentance that we should be realizing in our lives as it relates to the gospel life that we should be living.

Personification:  Faithfulness  It is the season for me to have a repentant heart and be displaying the fruit of faithfulness to the gospel.  It is my hope, however, that others will be doing the same.  I realize that the call to repent during the season of Lent is pretty easy to see, but it is my hope that I can see it every day for the rest of my life.

Prayer:  Lord,  for my past sins do not cast me from your presence and let your holy Spirit rest with me.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “Turn away from sin and be faithful to the gospel…

Leave a Reply

