The Golden Rule…

Standard
St Matthew and the angel

St Matthew and the angel

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  6Do to others whatever you would have them do to you. This is the law and the prophets.”  (Matthew 7:12)

Observation:  Today, since it is the day we celebrate the life and holiness of the Patron Saint of Ireland, I felt it was a good idea to remind myself of the golden rule.  It is found in the regular gospel readings for Mass today and in the 6th chapter of Luke’s gospel, verse 31.  The reason I think it is a source of fruit for me today is that it reminds us that no matter what country we or our ancestors come from, we are all called to holiness, and the best way to that holiness is by following the golden rule.

Personification:  Love  In order to be able to display the fruit of love, I must first be concerned about the fact that I must put other people’s needs before my own.  It is true that if everyone felt this way we would never accomplish our own tasks, but I believe we would be about the Lord’s business because he brings people into our lives that need our help.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to realize your call more fully today by bringing people into my life that are difficult to love and give me the strength and perseverance to love them unconditionally.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

7 thoughts on “The Golden Rule…

  1. I like the helpful information you provide in your articles.

    I will bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently.
    I’m quite certain I will learn many new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  2. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it
    for you? Plz respond as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. cheers

Leave a Reply

