Wash yourselves clean! (Isaiah 1:16a)

Standard
Jesus Christ of eucharist - an icon, Historic ...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  Wash yourselves clean! Put away your misdeeds from before my eyes; cease doing evil; learn to do good.  (Isaiah 1:16-17a)

&

You hate discipline; you cast my words behind you!  (Psalm 50:17)

&

Therefore, do and observe all things whatsoever they tell you, but do not follow their example. For they preach but they do not practice.  (Matthew 23:3)

Observation:  I read this morning that God is trying to tell me that I must learn to do good, and I must be careful where I look to find examples of others doing good.  In the verse from the Responsorial Psalm, I hear God’s reminder that I must be willing to accept discipline, and not ever cast the Word of God aside in favor of the word of man.

Personification:  Faithfulness  It is my hope that I can display the fruit of faithfulness today.  I don’t plan on just attending Communion Service this morning and receiving the Body of Christ, I plan on letting the Eucharist wash me clean of my iniquities and allow me to finish the day strong proclaiming the Good News of Jesus Christ by living it out in my life.

Prayer:  Lord, cleanse me of my iniquities and allow me to be your vessel of grace to others.  Please give me patience to go ahead in this world with the knowledge that you have already defeated all evil.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “Wash yourselves clean! (Isaiah 1:16a)

Leave a Reply

