We do not owe a debt to the flesh…so, why do we act as if we do?

Standard

Keep lookin' up...

Scripture: Consequently, brothers, we are not debtors to the flesh, to live according to the flesh.  For if you live according to the flesh, you will die, but if by the spirit you put to death the deeds of the body, you will live.  (Romans 8:12-13)

Observation:  These two verses are where I am at in my reading of the Bible this morning, and I was moved to journal on these two verses this morning, rather than the daily readings today.  The revelation that I had this morning was that even as Christians we act as if we have to be suceptible to sin, because of our inability to be faithful to the gospel at all times.  The truth that I read this morning is that we do not owe anything to sin, rather we have been suceptible to sinfulness in the past because of our lack of faith in the fact that Jesus died, so that we could conquer our sinful nature by his grace.

Application:  I should see as well, when I am able to resist temptation, that it is only by the grace of God that I was able to do so.  As I read earlier in the 7th chapter of Paul’s letter to the Romans, there is no good that dwells in my flesh.  I must also be aware that it is against my fleshly nature to follow God’s will, so I must work tirelessly to put God first in my life and always be aware of the evil that resides in my flesh.

Prayer:  Lord, send down your spirit to reside in me to resist the temptation to give in to the flesh.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

