For everyone who says, “‘God will not give me anything I cannot handle’ is not in the Bible”…Liars!

Standard
Head-piece to the first epistle of Paul the ap...

Image via Wikipedia

Scripture:  No trial has come to you but what is human. God is faithful and will not let you be tried beyond your strength; but with the trial he will also provide a way out, so that you may be able to bear it.  (1 Corinthians 10:13)

Observation:  Today, I am humbled by the Word of God.  I am speaking to myself in the words that I used in my title.  My wife is constantly saying that God will never give her anything that she can’t handle, and I repeat the words that I have heard that it was not scriptural, or there is no basis in scripture for that saying.  Boy, was I wrong.

Application:  I am thankful to God for keeping me in his Word and allowing me to come to an understanding of this verse, to be able to let my wife hear the words from my mouth that I am sorry.  I hope that I can live out these words today and not just say I’m sorry, but truly be repentant in my actions toward my wife.

Prayer:  Lord, allow the Word of God to penetrate my heart today and never let the words of man deter me from a real understanding of your truth.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “For everyone who says, “‘God will not give me anything I cannot handle’ is not in the Bible”…Liars!

  1. I appreciate your post. It is a mercy to be adjust by the God through his word. Thanks for the encouragement. May the Lord increase our appreciation and love for His word.

    This morning I enjoyed reading this verse, John 6:63: “It is the Spirit who gives life; the flesh profits nothing; the words which I have spoken to you are spirit and are life.”

Leave a Reply

