What if the prodigal son died?

Standard
Catholic Mass in the Grotto of the Annunciatio...

Catholic Mass in the Grotto of the Annunciation

Gift:  Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe) – With the gift of wonder and awe (fear of the lord), we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love.

Reading:  The servant said to him, ‘Your brother has returned and your father has slaughtered the fattened calf because he has him back safe and sound.’  But now we must celebrate and rejoice, because your brother was dead and has come to life again; he was lost and has been found.'”  (Luke 15:27,32)

Observation:  As I was thinking about the other son in the story of the prodigal son that was told by Jesus in the gospel reading for today’s Mass, I was wondering if he would understand the reaction of the father had his brother died.  Would he understand if the brother who had squandered his inheritance on prostitutes had been killed or died from some natural disaster and his father was overwhelmed with grief for him?  Would the brother just say that he got what he deserved, and he should have been more patient like me and wait on his inheritance. 

Personification:  Love  My question is more about us than the brother.  I wonder if we can share in Our Father‘s grief in the loss of so many lives in this world, without them never getting the opportunity to return to him, or do we just say that they got what was coming to them because they should have paid attention.  Can I display the fruit of love that God requires of me as a disciple of his Son, and spend the rest of my life delivering the good news to as many people as will take the time to hear it?  I don’t think I should waste even one minute of my day wondering if those that died got a chance to hear the good news, but rather every minute should be spent to make sure I have loved as he loves the world by delivering them the good news.

Prayer: 

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace.
Where there is hatred, let me sow love.
Where there is injury, pardon.
Where there is doubt, faith.
Where there is despair, hope.
Where there is darkness, light.
Where there is sadness, joy.
O Divine Master,
grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled, as to console;
to be understood, as to understand;
to be loved, as to love.
For it is in giving that we receive.
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned,
and it is in dying that we are born to Eternal Life.
I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.
Leave a Reply

