Where is our Massah and Meribah?

Standard
File:Jacob wrestling the angel 2.jpg

Jacob wrestling the angel...

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  1 The place was called Massah and Meribah, because the Israelites quarreled there and tested the LORD, saying, “Is the LORD in our midst or not?”  (Exodus 17:7)

&

2 Do not harden your hearts as at Meribah, as on the day of Massah in the desert.  (Psalm 95:8)

&

But God proves his love for us in that while we were still sinners Christ died for us.  (Romans 5:8)

&

A woman of Samaria came to draw water. Jesus said to her, “Give me a drink.”  (John 4:7)

Observation:  I may have read somewhere before about the significance of Jesus meeting the Samaritan woman at the well of Jacob, but this morning the significance for me is that Jacob wrestled with God and was remembered for the wrestling as much as for being one of the Jewish fathers in our history.  As my question asks in the title for my post today, “Where is our Massah and Meribah?’  Literally, where are we going to test God or about what issue are we going to wrestle or quarrel with him about?  What Jacob’s issue was, I forget, but my issue I know very clearly.  My hope is the next time I see Jesus ask me for a drink of water, I hope I recognize him without him having to call me out for my sins first.

Application:  Self-Control  Here I go again, same old self-control again.  It is important for me to choose to display this fruit today, not because I need to show how powerful a man of God can be who stands against sin, but because I am weak and it is because of the fact that Christ died for my sin that I will not repeat it with the grace of God strengthening me.  I don’t know how long it will last, but I know that it will last as long as he wills it, as long as I give myself completely to his will.

Prayer:  Lord, I know that I can do all things through you who strengthen me.  Please strengthen me today to be the man who you have called me to be and give me your eyes to see the thirsty ones in this world.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

