Where can you see the face of God?

Standard
Holy Mass

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  3 My being thirsts for God, the living God. When can I go and see the face of God?  (Psalm 42:3)

Observation:  It was in reading the footnote for this verse that I decided that I should journal on this particular verse from the Responsorial Psalm today.  It literally says in the reading for Mass, “Athirst is my soul for the living God.  When shall I go and behold the face of God?”  Of course, in the verse from the New American Bible online, it gives us the more common language interpretation of this verse.  It was the word “Athirst” that first drew me to the verse, but the footnote that said that “face” denotes the personal presence of God, as in the altar of God.  For me, this means that I can’t wait to get to communion this morning.

Personification:  Patience  I will attempt to display the fruit of patience in my life today.  As it pertains to my family, this is sometimes difficult when it takes two or three attempts to wake my boys from their state of hibernation in the morning.  However, I know that this is just a sneak peek at the patience that the Lord has had waiting on my foolish obsessions in the past.  Therefore, I will suffer in whatever way that my station in life calls me to, and I will try to do so with a joyful sense of patience.

Prayer:  Lord, allow me to see the face of God today in communion and give me the patience to deal with whatever issue I am presented with today.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

3 thoughts on “Where can you see the face of God?

  1. Thanks for choosing my post as a “related article.”

    I enjoyed your journal of Psalm 42:3. I haven’t ever looked up the word “face” to see what it means. I like that!

    ~Jennifer

    • Jennifer,

      I find it very hopeful and promising for the future of the world to know that there are other people that are unashamed of the gospel and willing to stand up and bring to light the faith that has the ability to save us all…God bless you!

      Jason

Leave a Reply

