Seven times seventy times…Not easy, but the reward is eternal!

Standard

  

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  19 Jesus answered, “I say to you, not seven times but seventy-seven times.  That is why the kingdom of heaven may be likened to a king who decided to settle accounts with his servants.

His master summoned him and said to him, ‘You wicked servant! I forgave you your entire debt because you begged me to. Should you not have had pity on your fellow servant, as I had pity on you?’  Then in anger his master handed him over to the torturers until he should pay back the whole debt. 23

24 So will my heavenly Father do to you, unless each of you forgives his brother from his heart.”  (Matthew 18:22-23,32-35)

Observation:  Of course, as I read the gospel reading for today, I was immediately thinking of the recently released Chris August song, “7 X 70”.  However, as I got to the end of the reading and read the footnotes for the verses that I chose above, I realized that Jesus’ message to Peter and his disciples is a little more ominous perhaps, than just the good news of forgiveness.  He is telling us in the end of this parable that unless we forgive from the heart, we will spend eternity in hell.  I guess it would have been easier to hear the message of forgiveness and leave it at that, but I think Jesus is telling us something much more important here.

Personification:  Generosity  It is my intention today to show generosity to everyone that I meet today.  As most people who know me know that I am not rich in terms of earthly wealth, so this generosity will have to come in the form of forgiveness.  No matter what adversity I come across, I will choose to forgive the other person regardless of the circumstances.  In my opinion, Jesus was telling us how to forgive, not just to point out the eternal punishment that awaits those who don’t forgive, but also to show that this forgiveness is a pathway to sharing God’s love with others.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be a person of forgiveness and love.  Please show me the path to righteousness and I thank you for the mercy that you have shown me for the times that I have sinned against you.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

