Have I been healed of my affliction today? Yes, now what…

Standard
二重富士

Image by retrospective-photo via Flickr

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  6 After this Jesus found him in the temple area and said to him, “Look, you are well; do not sin any more, so that nothing worse may happen to you.”  (John 5:14)

Observation:  Jesus knew that the man had faith in God, or he wouldn’t have waited by the pool to be healed.  So, when he sees him, he doesn’t tell him that his faith has healed him, because he would have already known that.  He does, however, give him the admonition to sin no more, so that nothing worse may happen to him.  In my opinion, Jesus is saying that after faith, comes an understanding of your obligation to live out that faith that heals.

Personification:  Self-Control  It will be my intention today to let the words that Jesus said to the man who was healed to sink in to my head.  I hope that I can see the fruit of self-control welling up inside of me as I listen to his words saying to me today, “Sin no more, so that nothing worse may happen to me.”

Prayer:  Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me a sinner.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

