Can you imagine our Lord’s body being used for immoral sex? No…Are you sure?

Standard

Do you not know that your bodies are members of Christ? Shall I then take Christ’s members and make them the members of a prostitute? 6 Of course not! (Or) do you not know that anyone who joins himself to a prostitute becomes one body with her? For

“the two,” it says, “will become one flesh.”  But whoever is joined to the Lord becomes one spirit with him.  Avoid immorality. Every other sin a person commits is outside the body, but the immoral person sins against his own body. 7Do you not know that your

body is a temple 8 of the holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God, and that you are not your own.  For you have been

purchased at a price. Therefore, glorify God in your body.  (1 Corinthians 6:15-20)

Observation:  Even before I read this morning, I had a feeling that the focus of my journal today was going to be on the reading that I am currently on in my personal reading of the Bible.  As I read the 15th verse, I was struck by the fact that Saint Paul was questioning the use of the members of Christ’s body being made members of a prostitute.  Instead of using the same verse in my title, I thought I would change it up and see if I could use the same shock that I am sure that Saint Paul had on believers in his time. 

Application:  I hope that my answer will always be the same that Saint Paul gave to the shocking statement that he made.  My answer should always be…Of course not!  I will look at my life and see that the things that are immoral should be avoided at all costs.  It is hard for me to see my body as a temple as it says in the 19th verse, but I will try to envision my body as an extension of the body of Christ and act accordingly. 

Prayer:  Lord, help me to see my body as a temple of the holy Spirit and act in a way that is respectful of God who is the owner and sole proprietor of my will that he purchased through the blood of Jesus Christ.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

