Are we still persecuting the prophets?

Standard
The New American Bible

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  Yet I, like a trusting lamb led to slaughter, had not realized that they were hatching plots against me:  “Let us destroy the tree in its vigor; let us cut him off from the land of the living, so that his name will be spoken no more.”  (Jeremiah 11:19)

&

They answered and said to him, “You are not from Galilee also, are you? Look and see that no prophet arises from Galilee.”  (John 7:52)

Observation:  As I read the first reading this morning, I was hearing the resolve that Jeremiah had in proclaiming the vengence that the Lord had planned for his people that were not listening.  I chose the verse above, because I noticed that it actually is not listed in the approved text in the current version of the New American Bible.  It, along with the 20th and the 21st verse, are not in the current version of the Bible and there is no footnotes explaining why they are not listed.  Rather than try to give my reasons for why I assume this happened, I am going to say that I am thankful to the holy Spirit for revealing the truth to me through these words, regardless of whether it is currently in the approved text or not.  Furthermore, when seen in the light of the gospel reading for today, I can see that it doesn’t matter when our world or even our church sees a prophet, our first reaction will always be to try and argue against it.

Personification:   Gentleness  I will be attempting to display the fruit of gentleness today.  As I deliver the truth through the Word today to a bunch of young people who are preparing to receive their First Communion later this month and at the beginning of next month, I will try and be as gentle as possible.  Of course, I don’t want to scare them with all the prophetic imagery that I have been focused on lately.  Rather, I will choose to focus their attention on the prophet and king that has already come and hopefully help them see their own call to conversion during this season of their life and this great season of lent.

Prayer:  Lord, please continue to guide me in your ways everlasting and allow my words to flow from your will today and not from my own will.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

