Do you need to see the dead to rise to believe, or have you already seen it?

Standard
Heart of Jesus

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  Therefore, prophesy and say to them: Thus says the Lord GOD: O my people, I will open your graves and have you rise from them, and bring you back to the land of Israel.  (Ezekiel 37:12)

&

Those who are in the flesh cannot please God.  But you are not in the flesh; on the contrary, you are in the spirit, if only the Spirit of God dwells in you.  Whoever does not have the Spirit of Christ does not belong to him.  But if Christ is in you, although the body is dead because of sin, the spirit is alive because of righteousness.  If the Spirit of the one who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, the one who raised Christ from the dead will give life to your mortal bodies also, through his Spirit dwelling in you.  (Romans 8:8-11)

&

Jesus told her, “I am the resurrection and the life; whoever believes in me, even if he dies, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?”  (John 11:25-26)

Observation:  I was moved today by the fact that the book of Ezekiel speaks about resurrection from the dead for the chosen people in Israel and gives a glimpse of the hope that will come in this resurrection for all of Israel.  Then, as I read the 2nd reading from Paul’s letter to the Romans, I realized that for us, this resurrection is not occuring at some distant point when we are laid in the grave.  Rather, it is happening right now for everyone who is accepting that Jesus Christ is the light of the world.  Finally, in the gospel, Jesus begins by telling his disciples that if they walk in the light, they will not stumble.  Later, he tells Martha that if everyone who believes in him, will never die.

Personification:  Kindness  It will not just be my intention, rather I will act with my whole will to display the fruit of kindness today.  The life that I live is not mine, rather it is a reflection of the glory of the one who saved me from myself.  Therefore, I should be able to display this kindness that comes from the grace of God with ease.

Prayer:  Lord, allow me the ability to not only display the fruit of kindness in my church, but in my home and with all the members of my extended family today.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

