O Lord, hear my prayer, and let my cry come to you. (Psalm 102:2)

Standard
The Divine Mercy painting by Adolf Hyla. The P...

Jesus, I trust in you...

Gift:  Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading: 

Let this be written for the next generation, for a people not yet born, that they may praise the LORD:
3 “The LORD looked down from the holy heights, viewed the earth from heaven,
To attend to the groaning of the prisoners, to release those doomed to die.”  (Psalm 102:19-21)

Observation:  I read the readings this morning, and rather than focus on some heavy part of the sin that was mentioned in the first reading or the fact that Jesus told the Pharisees that they would die in their sins, I chose to focus on something positive that the Psalmist is expressing here for us to do moving forward.  It is only in our sincere prayer for future generations and our hope that God will have mercy on those that are doomed to die that can motivate our prayer.  I guess I should qualify that last statement to say that my own prayer life cannot be sustained when I am watching the world crumble around me.  I must think about the future generations and the hope that they will have if they have faith in a God that will have mercy on them.

Personification:  Faithfulness  I have been quite busy with life lately and it has been difficult to carve out time to just pray earnestly to the Lord to have mercy on us.  It will be my focus for today and hopefully everyday after to be able to pray earnestly for our world in hopes that whatever punishment that the Lord had planned for us, he will relent and give us time for repentance.

Prayer:  Lord, I pray that you would show the world the same mercy that you have shown me by giving me a heart for repentance and prayer, rather than evil.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

4 thoughts on “O Lord, hear my prayer, and let my cry come to you. (Psalm 102:2)

  1. With havin so much content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright violation? My blog has
    a lot of unique content I’ve either created myself or
    outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the
    internet without my permission. Do you know any ways to help reduce content from being stolen? I’d truly appreciate it.

    • I don’t worry about my content being stolen, because I don’t make any money on my blog or youtube channel. However, if you are worried about any of your content on my site or possible copyright issues on my site, I would appreciate you letting me know! God bless you!

Leave a Reply

