You are a slave, but the son can set you free…

Standard
Photograph taken by me on 28 July 2006 Lima 10...

Freedom is waiting...For you?

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  5 If our God, whom we serve, can save us from the white-hot furnace and from your hands, O king, may he save us!  (Daniel 3:17)

&

16 How can you say, ‘You will become free’?”  Jesus answered them, “Amen, amen, I say to you, everyone who commits sin is a slave of sinA slave does not remain in a household forever, but a son 17 always remains.  So if a son frees you, then you will truly be free.  (John 8:33b-36)

Observation:  I believe that the first reading from the book of Daniel is meant to show us that God has the power to save us from anything.  It is not meant to be a means for our boasting about his ability to save us in any particular situation.  Rather, it is meant to be a reminder, along with Jesus’ words in the gospel reading for today’s Mass, that whatever sin that we struggle with, if we have faith in God to heal and protect us, that is exactly what Jesus, his son was sent to do.  He was sent to show us that with his help we can live in this world apart from sin.

Personification:  Self-Control  It is only in our recognition of our sinfulness or at least our tendency to fall into sin, that we can be saved from it.  For me, it is hard to see myself apart from my sin, because of the fact that I have spent most of my life in sin.  However, Jesus is saying in the gospel today that he can defeat our sin and bring us out of this slavery.  I will try to remember to acknowledge my slavery and realize that it is only by the grace of God that my redeemer has freed me.

Prayer:  Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me a sinner.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

