Old or new…Keep the covenant…Because God said so…

Standard
Molnár József: Ábrahám kiköltözése

Father Abraham...

Gift: Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  God also said to Abraham: “On your part, you and your descendants after you must keep my covenant throughout the ages.  (Genesis 17:9)

&

Jesus answered, “I am not possessed; I honor my Father, but you dishonor meI do not seek my own glory; there is one who seeks it and he is the one who judges Amen, amen, I say to you, whoever keeps my word will never see death.”  (John 8:49-51)

Observation:  I am hearing today that the original covenant with Abraham, as well as the covenant that Jesus makes with us about keeping his word, is our calling to obey God, not to observe some personal understanding of faith that we have made up in our heads.  It is my belief that too many times that as Christians, we try and water down the need to obey the Word of God with the new covenant that we say is what Jesus said is all we have to follow.  It is my feeling that instead of listening to all of his words, too many of us pick and choose part of his word to follow, instead of being faithful to follow all of his Word.

Personification: Joy  If I can be faithful to follow the Word of God in my life, I will be displaying the fruit of joy in my life.  As I have said many times before, there is nothing that can make us happier or more joyful than following the will of God.  You could say that I am choosing to display faithfulness and joy, but I hope that I can display the fruit of joy for everyone to see today.

Prayer:  Lord, it my hope that joy will spring forth from my ability to be faithful to obey the Word of God.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

