Sing to the LORD, praise the LORD, For he has rescued the life of the poor from the power of the wicked! (Jeremiah 20:13)

Standard
Arkhangelsk (Arkhangelsk oblast), coat of arms...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift: Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  4 In my distress I called out: LORD! I cried out to my God. From his temple he heard my voice; my cry to him reached his ears.  (Psalm 18:7)

&

15 Jesus answered them, “Is it not written in your law, ‘I said, “You are gods”‘?  (John 10:34)

Observation:  The title of my post is my sincere hope  that I can remember to sing to the Lord, praise Him, because he has rescued my life, that I got from the first reading for Mass today.  The responsorial Psalm goes further to say that if I can remember to call out to him, that the Lord will hear me from his holy abode.  Finally, the gospel tells me that God does not want me to see myself as God, but he doesn’t mind that we consider ourselves as gods, as long as we remember that is only because the Word of God came to us, and the saving power comes from the grace that flows freely from the sacrifice that he suffered on the cross for us.

Personification:   Patience  I thank God for having patience with me through all the sinfulness that has manifested itself through my pitiful life.  I thank God for dying on the cross for me, while I was still in sin, so that I could be saved through the saving power of the grace that flows from that sacrifice.  My hope is that I can show that same patience with my children and be the leader of my family that God expects me to be, as a fitting tribute for the gift of salvation that has been offered to me.

Prayer:  Saint Michael the Archangel…Defend us in battle…Be our safeguard against the wickedness and snares of the devil.  May God rebuke him, we humbly pray.  And do you, O Prince of the heavenly host, by the power of God, cast into hell Satan and the evil spirits who prowl about the world seeking the ruin of souls…I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen!

Leave a Reply

