Can we see the high priest as fulfilling his role?

Standard
Statue of Caiaphas in Bom Jesus, Braga, Portugal

Statue of Caiaphas

Gift: Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  He did not say this on his own, but since he was high priest for that year, he prophesied that Jesus was going to die for the nation, and not only for the nation, but also to gather into one the dispersed children of God. 12   (John 11:51-52)

Observation:  I am hearing this morning, that the high priest was seen as having a gift of unconscious prophecy.  When seen in the light of Paul’s letters, where he exhorts everyone to use the gift of prophecy to counsel other believers, it is amazing to me that Caiaphas could be seen as bringing about the salvation of the world by his willingness to seek the death of Jesus.  I am left with a greater understanding of the fact that we do not know how the gift of prophecy that God gives to us will be used to bring about the completion of the salvation history that is yet to come.

Personification: Love  I may have chosen the fruit of love to display today, because of the picture that I took of Daijon and Kasaundra this morning.  It is easy to display love to these faces, but the challenge is to love those who do not look as adorable as these two.  My son is just over two, and my daughter is not even a week old.  Now, I may be biased since I am their Dad, but the challenge is still the same.  I will try to look at everyone I meet today in the same way that I look at these two, and in the light of the fact that we do not know how God is going to use them to bring about his plan of salvation.

Prayer:  Lord, let me see the challenge to love everyone as you have loved me, in the light of the gospel message today as well as in the light of the blessings that you have bestowed on my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

