IMO: The salvation story would not change if Judas repented…

Standard
"The Judas Kiss", (Mark 14:45) by Gu...

What leads to this kiss?

Gift:  Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:    Then Judas the Iscariot, one (of) his disciples, and the one who would betray him, said, “Why was this oil not sold for three hundred days’ wages 3and given to the poor?”  He said this not because he cared about the poor but because he was a thief and held the money bag and used to steal the contributions.  (John 12:4-6)

&

Some thought that since Judas kept the money bag, Jesus had told him, “Buy what we need for the feast,” or to give something to the poor.  So he took the morsel and left at once. And it was night.  (John 13:29-30)

Observation:  Since I didn’t journal yesterday, I chose to include some verses from yesterday’s Mass gospel reading as well as today’s.  In order to complete the title of my post for today, I should say that I believe that the story would not change if Judas would have repented of the evil that he had already committed, as well as repented of the evil that he was in the process of committing.  There were enough people in Jerusalem that wanted to see Jesus out-of-the-way, that God could have used any one of them to complete the story, if Judas would have repented and not carried out the evil deed of betraying his friend.

Personification:  Faithfulness  When taken together, these two parts of Judas’ story from John’s gospel is not unlike my story as a disciples of Jesus.  I see the evil that I repent of today or the grace that God gives me to refuse to follow the evil path that is laid out before me in my life, as a way to follow Jesus and not betray him tomorrow.  The faithfulness I show him today, will lead me to be able to be even more faithful to him tomorrow.  I must keep in the back of my mind that if I do not repent of the evil in my heart today, I just may be capable of betraying my friend Jesus tomorrow.  By the grace of God, I will keep a repentant heart today and choose good over evil, to display the fruit of faithfulness in my life.

Prayer:  Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me a sinner.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

3 thoughts on “IMO: The salvation story would not change if Judas repented…

  1. 72 By Judas Goat is a term that has been established to describe the infiltration of group herd by an enemy to lead the unknowing group to its death. .Politics a book that comes to my mind depicts the enemy within or the Judas Goats infiltrating the American Nationalist Movement.

Leave a Reply

