What payment do I need to betray the Lord?

Standard
reading the gospel of matthew

Image by khrawlings via Flickr

Gift: Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:  3The Lord GOD has given me a well-trained tongue, That I might know how to speak to the weary a word that will rouse them. Morning after morning he opens my ear that I may hear; 4 And I have not rebelled, have not turned back.  (Isaiah 50:4-5)

&

“See, you lowly ones, and be glad; you who seek God, take heart!  For the LORD hears the poor, does not spurn those in bondage.  (Psalm 69:33-34)

&

Then one of the Twelve, who was called Judas Iscariot, 7went to the chief priests 8and said, “What are you willing to give me if I hand him over to you?” They paid him thirty pieces of silver, and from that time on he looked for an opportunity to hand him over.  (Matthew 26:14-16)

Observation:  In my reading this morning, I initially skimmed the first reading and the responsorial psalm to get to the gospel reading.  After I found the part of the gospel that was speaking to my particular situation today, I went back and found the other verses from the first reading and the responsorial that give me peace about where God has me and what he is expecting of me.  The question I pose in the title today is about the fact that I often sell out for something that is less than what God is calling me to, because of some type of pleasure or presumed peace that I think will come from it.  Anyway, my assumption is that I have taken a lot less than 30 pieces of silver in the past to fall into sin and I would hope that the outcomes that befell Judas would be motivation enough to keep me from falling in the future.

Personification: Kindness  I will make every effort to display the fruit of kindness today.  I know that the Lord has done so much to bring me this far in my life, the least I can do to repay that is show kindness to his people.  This includes anyone that I come in contact with today.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to use the gifts that you have given me to not only overcome my sinfulness with the help of your grace, but to act out of kindness to everyone I meet today.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

