Am I prepared for when he comes for me? Is he coming for me? Better be prepared anyway?

Standard
Ary Scheffer: The Temptation of Christ, 1854

Ary Scheffer: The Temptation of Christ, 1854

Gift: Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  The devil had already induced 4Judas, son of Simon the Iscariot, to hand him over. So, during supper, fully aware that the Father had put everything into his power and that he had come from God and was returning to God,  (John 13:2-3)

Observation:  John’s gospel is similar to Matthew’s gospel from yesterday, in that Judas is already seen as going to betray Jesus.  Even though, he had not yet committed the act of betrayal.  In John’s gospel, however, the devil is seen as inducing Judas’ betrayal.  I submit that, much like yesterday’s reflection, today I should ask myself if I am ready to withstand the devil if he wanted to induce me to do something.  Jesus was ready…The act that he chooses to do when he comes to the realization that he is full of power, is to humble himself by washing his disciples feet.

Personification: Faithfulness  If I am going to be prepared for whatever the devil could throw at me, I must take the example of Jesus and not look for ways to act on my own as Judas did.  Rather, I should look for ways to get others involved in ministry and wash their feet in whatever way that I can to show them that they are an important part of God’s plan.  When I can truly display the fruit of faithfulness in God, I can be sure of my ability to withstand whatever the devil may throw at me.

Prayer:  Saint Michael, the Archangel, defend us in battle.  Be our safeguard against the wickedness and snares of the devil.  May God rebuke him, I humbly pray.  And do you, O Prince of the Heavenly Host, by the power of God, cast into hell Satan and all the evil spirits, who prowl about the world seeking the ruin of souls.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

