Come to the water…

Standard

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  1All you who are thirsty, come to the water! You who have no money, come, receive grain and eat; Come, without paying and without cost, drink wine and milk!2 Why spend your money for what is not bread; your wages for what fails to satisfy? Heed me, and you shall eat well, you shall delight in rich fare.  (Isaiah 55:1-2)

Observation:  There are a lot of choices for scripture to journal on today.  If you check out the daily Mass readings for today, you will know what I mean.  I actually only got to reading 5 before I found this one.  I wish I could have really heard and understood this reading back when our family was making lots of money.  I know that we used to spend our money on what fails to satisfy.  Now, we spend what little we have on the things that satisfy and even though we have much less money, we are richer than we have ever been.

Personification: Self-Control  Today, I will try and display the fruit of self-control by showing everyone how truly excited I am for those who are receiving the sacraments of initiation at the Easter Vigil this evening.  The focus of this day needs to be on the celebration of the new additions to our church and our excitement for them as they “come to the water” for the first time, could go a long way to lifting them up in their faith for years to come.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to focus my attention on those that are receiving the sacraments for the first time today and give me hope that I will see others close to me making this important step in their faith soon.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

