I can only see Jesus, when I don’t let sin get in the way…

Standard
appearance of Jesus to Cleopa and Luke

Image via Wikipedia

Gift: Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  They said to him, “The things that happened to Jesus the Nazarene, who was a prophet mighty in deed and word before God and all the people, how our chief priests and rulers both handed him over to a sentence of death and crucified him.  But we were hoping that he would be the one to redeem Israel; and besides all this, it is now the third day since this took place.  Some women from our group, however, have astounded us: they were at the tomb early in the morning and did not find his body; they came back and reported that they had indeed seen a vision of angels who announced that he was alive.  Then some of those with us went to the tomb and found things just as the women had described, but him they did not see.”  And he said to them, “Oh, how foolish you are! How slow of heart to believe all that the prophets spokeWas it not necessary that the Messiah should suffer 8 these things and enter into his glory?”  (Luke 24:19b-26)

Observation:  Please don’t misread my title…I do not believe that I will ever be without sin, but I know that the times that I cannot see Jesus, are the times that I am caught up in my own selfishness.  In the gospel today, we hear of the two disciples who were on the way to Emmaus.  It doesn’t say this, but I can imagine that they were discussing all the glory that could have been, had Jesus just been the Messiah that they were hoping for.  They mention that they recognized him as a prophet for the things that he did and the words that he spoke, but they were hoping for a Messiah.  He quickly tells them that the Messiah had to suffer for them, in the form of a question, and then explains that he must enter into his glory.

Personification: Patience  Rather than act impatiently in my life, trying to force Jesus to show himself in my life the way that I expect him to show himself, I should act with the fruit of patience and recognize the places that he is already making himself present.  The fact that he is present for me in the bread and wine that I receive at Mass should be enough.  I need to cherish the moments that I have with him, by patiently waiting on him to make himself present in my life in the ways that will bring him Glory.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be patient at the work that you have set before me.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

