If we move in the flesh, we know the result…Moved by the spirit, result is mystery!

Standard
Holy Spirit dove window

Holy Spirit dove window

Gift: Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  Jesus answered, “Amen, amen, I say to you, no one can enter the kingdom of God without being born of water and Spirit.  What is born of flesh is flesh and what is born of spirit is spirit.  Do not be amazed that I told you, ‘You must be born from above.’ The wind 4 blows where it wills, and you can hear the sound it makes, but you do not know where it comes from or where it goes; so it is with everyone who is born of the Spirit.”  (John 4:5-8)

Observation:  As I was hearing the gospel reading being read in Spanish this morning at our communion service, I was moved by the fact that Jesus was saying that we will not know the result of our lives if we give in to being led by the spirit.  Moreover, I realized in hearing this from the Word of God today, that we all know what the result is if we follow the flesh. 

Personification: Love   It is only by following the will of the Father with the inspiration of the holy Spirit that I will know that it is possible to be an extension of God’s love to other people.  If I follow the flesh, the result is selfishness and guilt from spending time in things that are not in keeping with God’s will for my life.  However, if I am being led by the holy Spirit, that Jesus gives me as a guide, there is no limit to the number of people who will be brought into my life to be able to share God’s love with.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to follow your will for my life and help me to see the inspiration of the holy Spirit leading me to things that are completely unexpected.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen. 

Leave a Reply

