Many are the troubles of the just, but the LORD delivers from them all. (Psalm 34:20)

Standard

Gift: Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe) – With the gift of wonder and awe (fear of the lord), we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love.

Reading:  15 The one who comes from above is above all. The one who is of the earth is earthly and speaks of earthly things. But the one who comes from heaven (is above all).  (John 3:31)

Observation:  Paul speaks about the one God in his letter to the Galatians, who came to bring us to be justified through faith in him.  The law or laws does not bring about salvation, it is faith in Jesus as the one God who delivers us from this earthly realm to another world that brings about salvation.  It does not mean I will not cause trouble for myself at times, but I know that if I am faithful to the one who came down to save us, he will save me from whatever trouble I could cause for myself.

Personification: Patience  I will attempt to make a display of the fruit of patience today.  In my life, it is difficult to wait on the Lord when my children are acting ridiculous.  It will be my intention today, and for the rest of my life to wait on the Lord to give me the answer to the situation that I will find myself in, whether that be from my own doing or from something that comes from others.

Prayer:  Lord, give me the strength to not act of my will today and help me to find the answers in the gospel, and not my own understanding.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

