Are we willing to offer all of it to the Lord?

Standard
Saint Peters

Image by Robbiet480 via Flickr

Gift: Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  One of his disciples, Andrew, the brother of Simon Peter, said to him, “There is a boy here who has five barley loaves 6 and two fish; but what good are these for so many?”  (John6:8-9)

Observation:  It struck me this morning how this boy would have been a true believer to accept that the disciples were going to take all that he had from him and offer it to the Lord.  I wonder if he was hoping to offer for others with his supply of food, or was this all that he had for himself to eat for that day and the next day too.  Anyway, the gospel does not say that he hesitated in giving it to them to let the Lord bless it.  I assume that he had complete confidence that the Lord was going to provide for him since he gave all of his supply to be used by the Lord to perform this miracle.

Personification:  Faithfulness  It may be some other fruit that I should be displaying today, but I feel that the gospel reading today is calling me to display the fruit of faithfulness, at least as it comes to my giving to the Lord from my supply.  As Andrew is looking down on me now, what does he see that I have to offer to the Lord?   I hope that I can be as faithful as the boy in the gospel today and just give it to the Lord and know that he will use it to perform miracles in the lives of others and my needs will still be met.

Prayer:  Lord, use me as an instrument of your will today and for the rest of my life.  Please help me remember that I am nothing without you.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

