As I sit at Starbucks with my son this morning…

Standard
The Son of Man

Image by Lawrence OP via Flickr

Gift: Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  Do not work for food that perishes but for the food that endures for eternal life, 15 which the Son of Man will give you. For on him the Father, God, has set his seal.”  (John 6:27)

Observation:  I found it kind of ironic to be reading about working for food that perishes and drinking a coffee at Starbucks while my son is eating a Cinnamon swirl coffee cake and a breakfast sandwich for breakfast.  The point of coming to Starbucks this morning was to be out of the house and making it more easy to focus on the Word of God.  As I sit here with a group of runners next to us and the kitchen sounds like a vintage World War II tank, it may have not been the best idea to come here to try to focus better.

Personification: Patience  I will stay positive about this project and I am thankful to my sister for providing the means for my son and I to share this time together this morning.  Even though I may not have been able to focus on my normal journaling this morning, I will try and display the fruit of patience and allow whatever direction that God is leading my life with making my journaling project more mobile.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to wait on you to lead my life in the direction that glorifies him.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “As I sit at Starbucks with my son this morning…

Leave a Reply

