Follow up from yesterday…What is this food that endures for eternal life?

Standard
Starbucksguadalajara

Starbucks Guadalajara

Gift: Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  17 Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me will never hunger, and whoever believes in me will never thirst.  (John 6:35)

Observation:  If it is not an external distraction, it is an internal distraction.  Yesterday, I was bothered by all of the distractions inside of Starbucks, so I subconsciously did not want to repeat that performance this morning.  So, I made sure that I was without distraction at the house.  However, my mind is not without distraction on its own.  I took a call from my sister as I was finishing my journal and realized that even in the midst of whatever is distracting from what I think I should be focusing on, God is going to redirect my thoughts to what I should be thinking, and I need only give myself to following his will.

Personification:  Self-Control   I believe that I have journaled on the fact that without the grace of God directing my steps, I would be falling into sin at every moment in my life.  The challenge for me today is to live out the fruit of self-control in my life by coming to the realization that I am powerless against my sinful nature without the grace that comes from following the Word of God in my life.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to give up my selfishness in favor of following your will for my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

