How have I seen Him and not believed?

Standard
Emmaus House (14)

Emmaus House

Gift: Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  17Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me will never hunger, and whoever believes in me will never thirst. But I told you that although you have seen (me), you do not believe. Everything that the Father gives me will come to me, and I will not reject anyone who comes to me, because I came down from heaven not to do my own will but the will of the one who sent me. And this is the will of the one who sent me, that I should not lose anything of what he gave me, but that I should raise it (on) the last day. For this is the will of my Father, that everyone who sees the Son and believes in him may have eternal life, and I shall raise him (on) the last day.”  (John 6:35-40)

Observation:  The question for me, today, is probably not a whole lot different from the question of every other Christian who is struggling to keep the faith in this world.  The question is the one that I made the title of my post for today.  The answer is I have not seen Him when I give in to temptation and allow myself to be dominated by my sinful nature.  Truly, it is an act of faith that is not possible without the grace of God, but it is still a choice that I have to make every day or even every minute of every day.

Personification: Love  In order to display any of the fruits of the holy Spirit, it takes the grace that comes from faith in Jesus as our God and Savior.  If I am going to display the fruit of love that comes from the grace of God, real Agape Love, I must be willing to look at Jesus and believe that He is more powerful than anything that can stop me from working towards showing that love to everyone that I meet.

Prayer:  Lord, I believe that you love me more than I love myself and my will is not important enough to stand in the way of your will for my life.  Please help me to sustain this attitude and display the love that you showed me in the cross today and everyday for the rest of your life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

