A reoccurring theme in John’s gospel this week…

Standard
Neon sign, Bread of Life Mission, Matilda Wine...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift: Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  I am the bread of life.  Your ancestors ate the manna in the desert, but they died; this is the bread that comes down from heaven so that one may eat it and not die.  (John 6:48-50)

Observation:  The author of John’s gospel really wanted to drive home the point that Jesus is the bread of life.  Also, that if we eat this bread, we will have eternal life.  I am in the process of reading C.S. Lewis‘, “The Great Divorce“, and in the beginning he talks about if we are to spend eternity in hell than our lives on earth are just that, “Hell”.  However, if we are to spend eternity in heaven, if we even believe in the concept of heaven, than our lives can begin to live that out on earth right now.  I point his point out to say that Jesus gave us himself in the bread of the Eucharist to nourish us and help us to start living that eternal life out right now.

Personification: Faithfulness  I will make it a point to display the fruit of faithfulness in the gospel message today and in the real presence of the body of Christ in the bread that I will receive at our Communion Service this morning.  If I have faith that Jesus is truly present in the bread, than I can know that he will be delivering me over to living a life that is more eternal every day.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to know that you want to make me complete in you and help me to receive Communion as one who is waiting to be made whole by your presence.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

