Go out to all the world and tell the Good News. (Mark 16:15)

Standard
Jesus is considered by scholars such as Weber ...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift: Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  Jesus said to them, “Amen, amen, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you do not have life within youWhoever eats 19my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him on the last dayFor my flesh is true food, and my blood is true drink. Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood remains in me and I in him. Just as the living Father sent me and I have life because of the Father, so also the one who feeds on me will have life because of me. This is the bread that came down from heaven. Unlike your ancestors who ate and still died, whoever eats this bread will live forever.”  (John 6:53-58)

Observation:  It is interesting to me that on this Friday of the third week of Easter, we end the churches week-long reminder of the bread of life discourse from the gospel of John.  It is interesting because the discourse has gotten progressively more challenging as the week went on.  The church could choose to deny the challenge and let it go without saying that it is difficult to follow the words of Jesus.  God ends the discussion with me this week, saying that not only is it difficult, but so much so, many that would be disciples will not follow him in this challenge to accept the fact that we must eat his flesh and drink his blood.

Personification: Love  At Mass at Saint Mary Catholic Church yesterday, Father Mark challenged us to love each other as Christ loved us.  For me, the challenge today will be to live out the good news in my life by being an instrument of that love to everyone that I meet today.  I will be nourished by the food that I will eat at Mass at noon today, and I will hopefully be inebriated by the blood of Christ that I will drink to be empowered to share the love that Christ shared with us by dying on the cross and offering himself in this way for us.

Prayer:  Lord, let the central focus of my day be always on the gift that you give us in the Eucharist.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “Go out to all the world and tell the Good News. (Mark 16:15)

Leave a Reply

