Am I a slave or a friend?

Standard
Jesus with children, early 1900s Bible illustr...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift: Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe) – With the gift of wonder and awe (fear of the lord), we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love.

Reading:  You are my friends if you do what I command youI no longer call you slaves, because a slave does not know what his master is doing. I have called you friends, 6 because I have told you everything I have heard from my Father. (John 15:14-15)

Observation:  For me, it is not just about following his command to love everyone as he loved me, but hopefully I am learning that it is only by staying connected to the Word of God and to the church, so that I can really know what the master is doing with me.  Jesus has indeed told us everything he heard from his Father, but the question is, “Was I really listening the first 50 times I heard it, or will it be the 77th time that I hear it or read it that it hits home for me?”

Personification:  Joy  In the beginning of today’s gospel reading, Jesus says that if we follow his commandments that we will have joy and our joy will be complete.  It is only when we give up our life for our friends that we truly love them.  I hope that I can see that this is not only in death, but also giving of myself while I am still here on this earth.

Prayer:  Lord, please give me a share of the joy that comes from following your commandment to love.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

