The good shepherd…

Standard

Gift: Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  I have other sheep 7 that do not belong to this fold. These also I must lead, and they will hear my voice, and there will be one flock, one shepherd.  (John 10:16)

Observation:  After reading the gospel at home and then hearing it again in Spanish while I followed along in English at our communion service this morning, I was left with one impression.  The fact that Jesus knew that he would call others to him, including me, and that I would be able to hear his voice because he would leave a shepherd on earth to proclaim his voice until his return.

Personification: Gentleness  I am going to attempt to proclaim my blatant Catholicity with all the gentleness that comes as a gift of the holy Spirit.  Everyone who knows me knows that left to my own devices, I would be shouting from the rooftops and not just annoying the neighbors, but putting off those that need to hear the call in a much gentler tone.

Prayer:  Lord, give me the strength to proceed with caution and gentleness in to the world with the message that comes from God and the Church.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

