I want to be one of his sheep…

Standard
The Flagellation of Our Lord Jesus Christ (1880)

Image via Wikipedia

Gift: Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  My sheep hear my voice; I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish. No one can take them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all, 13 and no one can take them out of the Father’s hand.  (John 10:27-29)

Observation:  As I chose these three verses to journal on this morning, I thought about all the ways the world talks about being like sheep and the negative connotations that the world says about being a follower, especially a sheep-like follower.  However, the words that Jesus uses to show the protection that he is willing to afford his sheep, should make anyone willing to be called one of his sheep. 

Personification: Self-Control  I will choose to focus on displaying the fruit of self-control today, with the grace that comes to me freely from the Sacrament that I will receive this morning.  It is only by the grace of God that I am not following my own selfishness into sin right now, so I will try to show my gratitude for this grace by continuing to display this fruit of self-control for the rest of this day and for the rest of my life.

Prayer:  Lord Jesus Christ, I desire nothing more than to spend the rest of my life under the protection that you promised to your sheep.  Please help me to always hear your voice and to follow the will of the Father for my life, just like you did.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

